Moving in the right direction

News for the Department of Transport


Local governments, workplaces, schools and individuals have been recognised at the 2020 Your Move Awards, which celebrate the success and achievements of those championing for Western Australians to walk, ride and use public transport more often.  

The Department of Transport’s (DoT) Executive Director Urban Mobility Justin McKirdy said the Awards were expanded this year to not only recognise participants of the Your Move program but also Western Australian Bicycle Network grant recipients delivering exemplary cycling and walking infrastructure projects all over the State. 

“It was fantastic to formally recognise the way local and State government are working collaboratively to provide communities access to safer, more convenient active transport options,” Mr McKirdy said. 

“Building paths for people to walk and ride, then encouraging communities to use these new paths is a vital part of our WA Bicycle Network Grants program so it’s important to showcase best practice examples and recognise those who do it well,” he said. 

DoT’s Your Move program supports and encourages workplaces, schools and local communities to choose walking, riding and public transport more often and enjoy the health and environmental benefits these more active and sustainable transport options offer. 

The program continues to grow, with 58 workplaces, 24 local governments and 171 schools across Western Australia now participating in Your Move. 

Further, DoT is currently partnering with the City of Stirling to deliver its successful Your Move community program. Your Move Stirling launched in September and aims to help 16,000 City of Stirling residents to live a more active and connected lifestyle.  

Mr McKirdy said the award winners demonstrated best practice across the areas of behaviour change, infrastructure design, construction, activation and evaluation in delivering their projects. 

“I would like to congratulate the award winners, those shortlisted, and everyone involved in the Your Move and Western Australian Bicycle Network grants programs for helping to create more active, healthy and connected communities,” he said. 

The winners of the 2020 Your Move Awards are:

  • Your Move Achieve Award - Schools
    Winner: Lake Gwelup Primary School 
  • Your Move Achieve Award - Local Government/Workplaces
    Winner: City of Fremantle
  • Your Move Innovate Award - Schools
    Winner: Mt Lawley Primary School Traffic Management Group
  • Your Move Innovate Award Local Government/Workplaces
    Winner: Eastern Metropolitan Regional Council
  • Your Move Champion – Schools, Individual 
    Winner: Julia Calvert, Winterfold Primary School
  • Your Move Champion – Schools, Team
    Winner: Warnbro Community High School Health and Wellbeing Team
  • Your Move Champion - Local Government/Workplaces
    Winner: City of Albany Green Team
  • WA Bicycle Network Award – Regional Bike Network project 
    Winner: Shire of Kondinin, Hyden Shared Path
  • WA Bicycle Network Award – Perth Bike Network project 
    Winner: City of Canning, Canning Route 1

To view the full list of award recipients and find out more about their achievements visit the Your Move website.

Please note further photographs are available upon request.

Media contact:

2020 Your Move Award winners (image)
Page last updated: Fri Oct 1 2021 11:38:59 AM