Second phase of ports governance reform underway

News for the Department of Transport


Regulations that took effect on 1 July 2021 have transferred the governance of four commercial ports in the Kimberley and Pilbara to the Port Authorities Act 1999 as part of the second phase of the Government’s ports governance reform agenda.

This regulatory change will transfer the oversight of the four ports from the Department of Transport to regional port authorities, with the ports of Derby, Wyndham and Yampi Sound now governed by the Kimberley Ports Authority, and the Port of Varanus Island by the Pilbara Ports Authority.

The port authorities become the approval body for pilot’s licences and will oversee marine safety and related marine safety plans for the four ports.

All Western Australian port authorities as well as the users and operators at the affected ports were consulted prior to drafting the regulatory changes.

This regulatory change is part of the second phase of the State Government’s ports governance reform that will eventually see oversight of 11 port facilities transfer from the Department of Transport to relevant port authorities.

The first phase of the reform saw the consolidation of seven regional port authorities into the current four regional port authorities – Kimberley, Pilbara, Mid-West and Southern – with Fremantle Port Authority unchanged.

Visit the Ports Governance Review page for more information.

Media contact:

Page last updated: Fri Oct 1 2021 11:38:59 AM